Skip to content

Nana’s New Mexican Green Chile Stew with Pork

July 26, 2015

 

I called my mom the other day as I was attempting to make my Nana’s New Mexican Green Chile Stew with Pork. For the uninitiated, this recipe differs from Mexican chile verde. This recipe only uses New Mexican green chiles. No other chiles or tomatillos are used and my Nana’s recipe never had tomatoes. Also, no additional spices besides garlic and onions are needed as the roasted green chile flavor is showcased here. The New Mexican green chile has heat, smokiness from the roast, a slight sweetness, and just the right amount of acidity. My Grampo Garcia grew chiles down the hill and would bring them up to my Nana for her to roast, peel and then make green chile stew.

My mom walked me through how Nana would make it and I have distilled her oral remembrance into the recipe below. Unfortunately, I don’t currently have a family source for fresh green chiles so I order them online and the mild green chiles are available in the international food aisle of your local grocery store. These are used to regulate the heat factor and add some volume as ordering canned chiles is not inexpensive. This recipe is as close as I can get to my Nana’s wonderful recipe.

Ingredients
2 – 16oz cans roasted New Mexican green chiles – medium or hot
2 – 27 oz cans whole green chiles – mild
4 cloves Garlic minced
1 large yellow onion diced
3 lbs pork butt cut in 1″ chunks (my mom says my Nana would cut them into 1/2″ chunks)
27 oz Water or chicken broth
1 cup flour
Lard or olive oil
Salt
Flour tortillas – warmed on an open flame or in a cast iron skillet

Directions
Pour New Mexican chiles and liquid in to large pot on medium heat. Shred whole green chiles by hand and add chiles and liquid to pot. In large skillet on medium-high heat, add two TBS lard or olive oil and add onions and garlic. Cook until the onions are soft and translucent then add to pot. I like to slightly caramelize until the onions around the edges of the pan are browned to add flavor. Add a little bit more lard or olive oil to pan. In a medium bowl add the flour and about a TBS of salt and mix together. Dredge pork chunks through flour mixture to coat then brown pork on both sides in pan. This will take a few batches. Add to the pot after second side is browned. The flour from the pork will thicken the sauce. Add water or chicken broth to get the desired consistency. Add salt to taste. Cook for 2-3 hours until pork is tender and fat is rendered. Serve in a bowl with a warm stack of flour tortillas! Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Kandy permalink
    July 27, 2015 8:33 pm

    Ok… My mouth is watering so now I need to make this version!! I love using tomatillos… Did you do a different recipe for the anniversary party??

    • robsfoodblog permalink*
      July 27, 2015 9:09 pm

      This is the recipe I made for the party. No tomatillos, just green chiles.

Leave a Reply

