Skip to content

Homemade Sloppy Joes

December 31, 2012

20121231-191742.jpg

I was looking for some comfort food and something easy to make for dinner. Sloppy joes immediately came to mind. So my 3 1/2 year old son and I ran to the store in the morning to grab some ground beef and one of those instant sloppy joe mix packets. Unfortunately, the grocery store was out of the sloppy joe mix and I was feeling too lazy to go to another store. We got home and I forgot about not having the mix. When it came time to start making dinner my laziness outweighed my desire to make another run to the store and find a sloppy joe mix. Instead, I opted to whip it up from scratch! As a longtime consumer and fan of sloppy joes I felt that I knew what it should taste like. I started with the ground beef and added things until it tasted just right. Not only does it taste great but I know exactly what is in it!

Ingredients
1 lb ground beef
4 shallots minced
1 TBSP olive oil
1 6oz can tomato paste
2 cups water
2 large garlic cloves minced
1 1/2 TBSP brown sugar
2 TBSP Worcestire sauce
1 1/2 TBSP white vinegar
2 TBSP chile powder
2 tsp paprika
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions
In large skillet on medium high heat brown ground beef and drain fat. Add shallots and olive oil and cook until translucent. Add water, tomato paste, garlic, sugar and spices and stir until incorporated. Salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for 10 minutes or until water has reduced and mixture has thickened. Serve on hamburger buns with BBQ potato chips.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

