Skip to content

Quick, Easy and Delicious Pancakes

September 30, 2012

I woke up this morning not really knowing what we should have for breakfast. I was thinking every-man-for-himself day today, but my wife had a great idea. Pancakes! I didn’t have any pancake mix or Bisquick in the pantry so I went to the trusty internet to find a good recipe. I have a few recipes in my recipe binder that I have made before, but haven’t been totally satisfied with the results. Also, buttermilk pancakes always seem to be richer and fluffier that plain old milk based pancakes. But who has buttermilk just waiting in their fridge for that one moment you need it? Not me! So back to my search. I zeroed in on a basic pancakes recipe from Martha Stewart’s website, but as is my custom, I always want to tweak something to eek out more flavor, texture or specialness if I can. For some cake or cookie recipes I have made buttermilk (or clabbered milk) by combining milk and lemon juice before. So I did that for this recipe and the pancakes turned out light fluffy and very moist.

 

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk, clabbered milk or buttermilk

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1 large egg

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 200 degrees F; have a baking sheet or heatproof platter ready to keep cooked pancakes warm in the oven. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, butter, and egg. Add wet ingredients to flour mixture; whisk until just moistened (do not overmix; a few small lumps are fine).

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat.

For each pancake, poor about a serving spoonful of batter onto the  skillet, using the back of the spoon to spread batter into a 4″ round (you should be able to fit 3 in a large skillet).

Cook until surface of pancakes have some bubbles and a few have burst, 1 to 2 minutes. Flip carefully with a thin spatula, and cook until browned on the underside, 1 to 2 minutes more. Transfer to a baking sheet or platter; cover loosely with aluminum foil, and keep warm in oven. Continue with remaining batter. (You should have 20 or so 4″ pancakes.) Serve warm, with butter and real maple syrup.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2012 4:51 pm

    looks delish!

Leave a Reply

