Skip to content

Delicious Gluten-Free Low-fat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies!

April 29, 2012

Image

I have been eating healthier lately and so have cut back on my baking of cookies and cakes. But, I thought to myself what if I could bake a healthier cookie that was low in fat and still tasted great? What could be the harm in that? Furthermore, I also have been reading about the gluten free trend and have cut a lot of breads and pastas out of my diet. I don’t have a gluten issue that I know of, but I am interested in seeing if I feel better without so much of it in my food.

So, I have been making gluten-free cookie recipes and fat-free cookie recipes for more than a few weeks and have come up with what I think is a great almost-guilt-free recipe with lots of chew, flavor, texture and heart-healthy goodness that I wanted to share! My recipe is a combination and modification of a bunch of different recipes that I have tried. I has honey instead of granulated sugar, some flax for fiber and omega-3s, vegetable oil and apple sauce instead of butter fat and xanthan gum helps bring back some gluten-like chew. So here it is:

Preheat oven to 335° F. Yes, 335° F.

Ingredients:
1 cup brown rice flour
1/3 cup tapioca flour or starch
1/2 cup milled flax
1 1/2 cup oats
1 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 TBSP cinnamon

1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil
1/2 cup honey
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup apple sauce
1 egg + 1 TBSP water beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup walnuts
1/2 cup sliced almonds (optional)

Directions:

Mix all the wet ingredients together in a medium size bowl. In a separate large bowl, combine all dry ingredients together. Pour mixed wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix until incorporated. Refrigerate for 15 minutes.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Using a small ice cream scoop or spoon, place balls of dough on cookie sheet. Flatten dough balls slightly to promote even cooking. Bake for 15 minutes or until bottoms are golden brown. Makes about 3 dozen cookies. Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 1:43 am

    These look great, Id happily send my husband off to work with a few of these to keep him going 🙂 healthy yet still a treat!

    • robsfoodblog permalink*
      May 1, 2012 9:25 am

      The only thing about these is that they taste so good that you end up eating twice as many.

Leave a Reply

