Skip to content

Devil’s Food Cake

December 6, 2009

I have been searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe for a long time. I have a goal to have a binder full of my favorite recipes that I have honed into perfect representations of each of their individual genrés. Kind of like a swiss army knife of recipes. Any recipe that I could want will be ready for me or for me to give to someone else to make. Tested and approved. This is my dream.

There are taste memories that I have of my Nana’s cooking, like pinto beans, flour tortillas and a dish she just called Vermicelli or Fideo which is a simple dish of browned raw vermicelli or Fideo that is cooked with water, tomato paste, salt and lots and lots of pepper. Another taste memory that I have is of my Mother’s French crumble topped apple pie that she made during the Christmas holiday. She would use a giant commercial cake pan so that the whole family would be able to have seconds and thirds of her delicious apple pie.

Just like I have searched, refined and experimented to recreate all of those recipes, I have also made lots of chocolate cake recipes that fell flat on flavor, texture or both.

The recipe that I have currently been using is the closest I have come to the perfect chocolate cake. It is light and fluffy, moist, with the right amount of firmness and chocolate flavor to spare. I was searching for a great chocolate cake recipe for my wife’s birthday since she is a chocolate fanatic. While searching I stumbled upon a great food blog. I’m sure alot of food enthusiasts have already stumbled upon David Lebovitz’ food blog. It is full of great insights and recipes and definitely is worth a look. This is where I found this wonderful Devil’s Food Cake recipe!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki Weiner permalink
    December 15, 2011 2:29 am

    hey Robbie! Lovin your food blog :). I grew up on a version of Vermicelli…..but my mom made it with little half macaronis. My kids now know the joy of what she calls Pitos!
    There is nothing like a well worn recipe……so comforting! Carry on foodie….

    • robsfoodblog permalink*
      May 1, 2012 9:27 am

      I love Vermicelli! We make it all the time and it’s so easy. I will have to post up a recipe for it soon.

Leave a Reply

