Skip to content

Cincinnati “Skyline” Style Chili recipe

July 1, 2009

My wife is from Cincinnati originally and every time we visit family there we have to stop somewhere for Grater’s, UDF, Goetta and Skyline Chili! I happen to love the cheese Coney’s with maybe a side of 2-way chili. But at home when we are craving a little taste of Cincinnati, this always does the trick.

Ingredients:
2 lb hamburger, browned
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 med. onions, chopped fine
1-8oz. can tomato sauce
1-28oz. can 6 in 1 all-purpose ground tomatoes
3 garlic cloves finely chopped
1 tsp. cinnamon, scant
pinch of nutmeg
1 tsp. crushed red pepper
1 tsp allspice, ground
2 Tbsp. white vinegar
2 Tbsp. Gebhardt’s chili powder
4-5 whole bay leaves
Salt and pepper to taste, approximately 1 tsp. each
2 dashes Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp dry mustard
2 cans kidney beans

Heat a large stock pot on medium heat, add olive oil, onions, and garlic and cook for a few minutes until onions are translucent. In a large skillet, brown hamburger. Add browned hamburger to onion mixture. Add all other ingredients except kidney beans. Bring to a boil, then simmer 3 hours. Mash with potato masher until fine. Add 2 cans of strained and rinsed kidney beans. Serve on top of spaghetti with chopped onions, and finely grated cheddar cheese. Or, if you are like me, on top of some hot dogs in buns and topped with some finely grated cheddar cheese.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    July 22, 2009 4:23 pm

    I wonder if my kids would eat/like chili? You’ve inspired me to try, but I fear having to eat the whole vat myself…

    • robsfoodblog permalink*
      July 22, 2009 4:32 pm

      I think that they will love it. It’s served over spaghetti and topped with cheddar cheese! What’s not to like?

      If they don’t eat it, bring it in and I’ll help you eat it!

  2. Warren permalink
    October 13, 2009 8:18 am

    Sounds good, but what the heck is “1 can 6 in to 1 all-purpose ground tomatoes?”

    • robsfoodblog permalink*
      October 13, 2009 9:49 am

      6 in 1 All Purpose Ground Tomatoes is ground tomatoes with added extra heavy puree. If its not available where you shop you can substitute with regular ground tomatoes.

      http://www.escalon.net/6in1.aspx

  3. Hannah permalink
    January 10, 2010 7:43 pm

    This looks delicious. I’ll have to show the recipe to my uncle and maybe he will cook it for us, and we’ll have a chili cookoff!

  4. suzie permalink
    June 17, 2010 12:25 pm

    LOVE THE LOOKS of your skyline recipe! I havent lived in Ohio since 1992- and my son was only a toddler when we moved back to our home state ***THERE is NOTHING like the taste of Cincinnati Skyline Chili!!!!! ****Everyone, including teenagers LOVE it and thinks it rocks!
    ****For those of you who havent tried it, a must have recipe!***It remains my son’s fav request and today I make it for our ANNIVERSARY**** In the process of looking thru my recipe box, would you believe I could not find my copy, that thru the years I tinkered with several, adding and deleting. I’ve never used the chocolate some refer to. ****Thank you so much for your on line recipe….until I locate my original…and looks so much like mine anyway!

Leave a Reply

