Skip to content

I’m having a food block.

June 12, 2009

You know when you have to write a paper or design something and you just have no new ideas to do it? That’s kind of how I feel right now about cooking and thinking of new things to make.

Weekdays when I get home from work and normally would just start making a meal for my wife and I, I have been drawing a blank. I’m not sure when this started but its been a little while now. I remember not too long ago when I would have a whole week planned out, groceries bought, proteins portioned and cooking those meals was easy.

I have taken solace in the fact that the weekends are my time to experiment with new or tinker with old recipes. It’s such a wonderful feeling to find a recipe that brings back a happy memory and then find out that it delivers on the promise. One such recipe, of recent note, was a beef stew recipe that is to die for! Well, I don’t exactly follow recipes to the letter, they are more like a framework, or guideline, that leads me closer to what I am looking for. This beef stew recipe didn’t have enough building of flavors so I stole some ideas from an old beef bourguignon recipe that I have been using for years. And, instead of putting the potatoes in to the stew, I made some mash potatoes instead. Sometimes I make enough to last in to the weekdays, which kind of solves my food block dilemma, doesn’t it?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Kandy permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:59 pm

    So, you actually have an old boeuf bourgiungon recipe?? I’ve pulled out Julia Child’s recipe to make when you are here – do you have another recipe to share?

    But what are ground in tomatoes????

    • robsfoodblog permalink*
      December 13, 2009 8:24 pm

      I have an old recipe that my cousin used when he made it for my birthday ten years ago. You can find it here. It was quite delicious but I’m not sure how it would compare to Julia Child’s recipe.

      Are “Ground in tomatoes” in Julia Child’s recipe?

      • Aunt Kandy permalink
        December 14, 2009 8:16 pm

        Julia’s looks far more “busy”… we’ll try it just for fun. As for the ground in tomatoes – no… her recipe doesn’st call for it but I saw it in your other recipes and I’ve never heard of them!! Always thrilled to learn something new about cooking…

        Your recipe for lasagne looks very similar to mine – and I’ve kind of adapted mine to my own standards over the years – but I don’t have the ground in tomatoes!! I also use 1 or 2 spicy Italian sausage links… yum…

        Love you!

      • December 14, 2009 10:19 pm

        Oh! Ground tomatoes! I was referring to Escalon Brand 6-in-1 All Purpose ground tomatoes. It’s ground tomatoes in a heavy purée. I like them because there’s a good concentrated sweet tomato flavor and compared to Italian peeled tomatoes and separate tomato purée, it works better with less work.

  2. Aunt Kandy permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:01 am

    Ahhh… makes great sense and I’ve never seen them in the store! But then, we live in “rural” America with no Whole Foods in sight… I’ll check out our local Von’s/Safeway next time I wander through…

Leave a Reply

